Gran Turismo 2 Aerodynamics

Even up to now, I’m still fiddling with the drift settings for specific cars in Gran Turismo 2 and of course most of them are JDM. Particularly Nissan S15, Toyota Supra JZA80, MAZDA RX-7 FC and FD3S. Unfortunately, I’m only limited to suspension, gear ratio, brake balance and LSD settings. It really hard to set these cars up because most of them are really uncontrollable at certain conditions such as uneven road elevation (Seattle Circuit). Now, to make matters worse, there’s another setting that caught my attention: Aerodynamics

Basically, in GT2, you won’t be able to touch this setting if your car is not prepared for racing, [R]. If you have modified cars like me, it will be up to the driver’s patience to cope with the nature of the car that depends on the settings and so on. Now, tuning the car with racing modification where the game puts all those make-over stuff, changing colors and putting stickers and so on changes things a bit. It enables the Aerodynamics section of the Settings where you can adjust downforce on the front and back side. Sounds nice but take note, this is just a simulation where not all factors are met such as tire wear, fuel, engine conditions, the like. Despite that fact, I tried modifying one of the most unstable cars I’ve encountered, The Toyota Supra

This is how the car looked like when I installed the modification. I changed the rims because I hate the red color of the rims provided with the modification. Here’s the settings for the suspension of the car:

I didn’t change the damper settings because I had the impression with the Mazda RX-7 Infini III [FC3S] that the default Full Suspension Customizaton settings are already good for drifting together with SImulation Tires. SO I just changed the Spring rate and camber angle. Then…

I’ve increased the downforce at the back of the car since that is where it becomes unstable, especially putting 600 HP on a suspension almost as stiff as the one’s with the GT cars. The car’s running on 490 HP and that’s to see if it can run better than 600 HP because when you unleash 600 HP while sliding, the car will just spin. Maybe increasing the downforce at the back will do the trick.

With a bit of Scandinavian flick and e-brake, the car started drifting a bit more difficult than before. Probably because the downforce pushes the rear end to the track hardly. At first I didn’t make any good results because I’m not used with near-stable rear. Eventually I started to get the gist of it and it gave better results than before. Oh yeah, feint drift became a lot easier to control and to perform…. in a SUPRA~!

The problem with this is that you won’t be able to race your car on events that does not require racing modifications. Plus, I am a fan of simplicity and I want solid colors on my car without the stickers and other stuff. I guess I’ll fill my garage with a second batch of same JDM cars but with racing modification. 😀

3 Responses to “Gran Turismo 2 Aerodynamics”


  1. 1 hck November 27, 2008 at 10:35 am

    Very-very good article!!

  2. 3 pedal2themetal August 18, 2011 at 10:06 pm

    Playing GT2 again….

    After tinkering with Hybrid, now with Drifting…

    Thanks for Setup!


Leave a comment




LifeDrive 2009

May 2008
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories

Pit lane

  • 234,967 stops

Top Clicks

  • None