Replacing a 3.5mm Audio Jack – Geeky-ness

MY set of speakers from Edifier gathered so much dust that I wanted to replace the broken audio jack immediately. And so I asked my Dad to get me a replacement jack from an electronics shop, borrowed his soldering iron, Digital Multimeter and some tools like wire cutter and long nose pliers. Yes, definitely sounds like Electronics Engineering. I don’t know how this thing works, especially when I removed all insulations and found out that there’s three wires, instead of the supposedly-obvious two. Nevertheless, I pushed through, assuming that the big wire goes to ground (nah, skip that term).

The anatomy of a 3.5mm audio jack.

So I tried to know first the places to solder by checking the continuity of the terminals. After knowing where to solder the specific wires, I encountered the problem of knowing which one goes for the left and right speaker. Happily, the wires the same color indicators as the speaker plugs. ๐Ÿ˜€ However, I don’t know also where on the jack to solder the left and right wires. So I resorted to the last thing to do: internet. After knowing everything I need to know, I pushed through with soldering the wires. BOOM, it’s now working and working BAD-ASS again! ๐Ÿ˜€

Time to remove the dust! ๐Ÿ˜€

Now my BOOM BOX is working again. I still have one spare jack left and I think I’ll use it to replace the jack of the SENNHEISER headphones here. Now, there’s no need for me to pay the damages, I can mend the damages myself! Or maybe not… unless I get my own set of equipment. Oh well, cheers to heavy BASS! xD

0 Responses to “Replacing a 3.5mm Audio Jack – Geeky-ness”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment




LifeDrive 2009

May 2010
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Categories

Pit lane

  • 235,016 stops

Top Clicks